Library Locations and Hours

Mailing Address:
PO Box 800
Carmel, CA 93921

mainarrow Main Branch

parkarrow Park Branch

Holiday Closures

Events Calendar

America's Star Library 2017

Harrison Memorial Library Board of Trustees

The Harrison Memorial Library is the public library for the City of Carmel-by-the-Sea, California. From the main Harrison Library building and the Park Branch, the library provides services to 11,542 cardholders who are residents of Carmel-by-the-Sea, the surrounding unincorporated areas of Monterey County, and the state of California.

The library's personnel and facility maintenance budget is funded by the city of Carmel-by-the-Sea. All library books, magazines, electronic resources and computer equipment are funded with donations to The Carmel Public Library Foundation and Friends of Harrison Memorial Library. No tax dollars are available for these purchases.

The library is administered by a five member citizen's Board of Trustees appointed by the Mayor of Carmel-by- the-Sea and confirmed by the City Council. Library Board members serve three year terms. The Board of Trustees formulates library policy, administers funds and plans library services for the community.

The Library Board holds a regular monthly meeting on the fourth Wednesday of the month at 9:00 a.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall. For agendas see the City of Carmel-by-the-Sea website.

The Board of Trustees are:

  • Tara Twomey, President
  • Niels Reimers, Vice President
  • Timothy Blomgren, Treasurer
  • Phillip Pardue
  • William Godwin